image3

Water Wells

 All drillers in the state must be licensed by the State of Tennessee.
 

Before the drilling process can begin, we must fill out a Notice of Intent to be sent to the state. After the well has been drilled, we submit a Well Report within 60 days, which will be entered into the  state database. This information may be retrieved at a later date.
 

Wells are priced by the foot for both the drilling and the casing.  Landers Well Drilling has no minimum charge; we only charge for the footage drilled.  If water is hit on top of the solid bed rock in a bed of gravel, the state will permit the use of PVC plastic well casing that meets the state's standard on thickness.  If water is achieved in the limestone bed rock, the state requires the use of steel casing.  We use  galvanized steel, which will not rust or corrode.
 

We are also required to collect a 75 dollar State Inspection Fee that we must send to the state. 

Tennessee state laws:

 All wells must be...
    

  • 50 feet from the septic tank.
  • 25 feet from the power transmission line.
  • 100 feet from any animal pen or feed lot.
  • 50 feet from the sewer lines.
  • 75 feet from pits or privies.     
  • 5  feet from foundations of buildings.
  • 25 feet from all property lines (may be closer in certain circumstances).
  • Grouted with a cement or bentonite grout from a depth of 3-10 feet minimum (included in our drilling cost).

These laws are to ensure there is no contamination to the well. Landers Well  Drilling has no control over these laws, and we must abide by them.
 

When wells need to be abandoned or plugged, it must be done so by a licensed driller. This must be done with a cement or bentonite grout.